Hampton Deanery

Hampton Deanery

A deanery is a group of local Anglican parishes.  St James is in Hampton Deanery with fifteen other parishes from Hampton, Teddington, Twickenham and Whitton.

A deanery synod ('synod' means 'council') consists of all licensed clergy and a certain number of elected lay representatives from each parish in the deanery. St James Hampton Hill has three lay members, who are elected at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting for a three year term of office. A representative must be on the electoral roll.

Hampton Deanery Synod meets three times a year, hosted by each of the churches in turn. Meetings are convened by the Area Dean, the Reverend Joe Moffatt, who became Area Dean in 2014. Here are some its activities:

  • It provides a forum for the sharing of information between local churches. Often there will be a guest speaker.
  • It provides a forum for the sharing of information from London Diocese and the national church.
  • It ensures that school governor vacancies in local church schools are filled.
  • It elects a representative to the London Diocesan Board for Schools.
  • Deanery Synod members each have a vote in the election of representatives to both London Diocesan Synod and the General Synod.
  • It offers shared training where there is a common need e.g. Growing Leaders course.

Find out more

Deanery Synod Report 2018-19 (document)


Clive Beaumont on 020 8943 4336


Deanery Evensong Deanery Evensong Deanery Evensong

A Deanery tea

A Deanery Evensong

A Deanery tea